All-time Favourite Indian Captains

India has always been a fan-favourite team when it comes to cricket. If you’re ever wondering why that seems to be the case, well, it must be because of the team’s incomparable passion and dedication to the sport. Aside from that, the Men in Blue seems to always excel in their games as seen on India cricket news. That, of course, credits to the impressive team captains that the team had all over the years. 

The men that had been appointed as the Indian team captain never failed to raise the flag of India when it comes to the cricket scene. Throughout the years, the Men in Blue consistently show up in India cricket news headlines. 

With the Indian’s unmatched love for cricket, it is with no doubt how the team can be well handled by their amazing captains. With that, let us take a look at some of India’s all-time favourite team captains. 

Kapil Dev 

Everyone in India knows Kapil Dev. His captaincy served to be a historical one as he served to be the first captain to lead India into a World Cup victory in 1983 against the West Indies. Dev proved his excellence by scoring more than 5000 runs in Tests and by being the first player to take 200 ODI wickets. He also holds the record of being the one of those who were able to take down more than 400 wickets with his record of 434. 

Mohammad Azharuddin 

Azharuddin captained the Men in Blue in the 1990s. He served to be one of India’s most successful team captains when he led the team into 90 ODI wins which was later on beaten by MS Dhoni. His achievements qualified him for an Arjuna Award. However, Azharuddin got involved in a match-fixing scandal which made him banned by the BCCI for life. In 2012, the ban got lifted after it was decided to be unsustainable. 

Sourav Ganguly

Serving as team captain from 1999 to 2005, Ganguly was known to be an aggressive captain with consistent performance. He was loved so much by the fans that he, later on, became known as Dada which means elder brother in Bengali. To date, Ganguly serves as the 39th president of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). Aside from that, he also became president on various organizations who acknowledged his excellency. 

Virat Kohli

Current Men in Blue Captain Virat Kohli also makes headlines by being one of the most impressive Indian captains that there is. Serving as India’s captain after MS Dhoni’s retirement in 2014, Kohli also smashes some records after being considered as one of the best batsmen in the world. Aside from being the captain of the Men in Blue, Kohli also captains the Royal Challengers Bangalore in the Indian Premier League since 2013. To date, he is known to be one of the most famous athletes in the world. 

Mahendra Singh Doni 

Commonly known by everyone as MS Dhoni, this former Indian captain seems to be the one who is considered to be the best one that ever captained the Indian team. Serving as captain from 2007 up until 2016, Dhoni led the Men in Blue towards remarkable victories. Under his captaincy, India bagged home all the major awards in ICC events which covered Test matches, T20Is, and ODIs. Aside from that, Dhoni was also able to able to beat some records that were set by former Indian captains. To date, some players and cricket fans still consider Dhoni to be the greatest captain that India has ever had. 

Other impressive captains of the Indian National Cricket Team are Sunil Gavaskar, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, Gautam Gambhir, and Virender Sehwag. 

These are just some of India’s impressive Indian cricketers who helped make India into what it is today. Without them, India wouldn’t have gotten to maintain the bar that had been set so high after their World Cup win in 1983 against the West Indies. These captains all showed their remarkable efforts to lead the team into countless victories which made everyone in India and in the whole world appreciate the passion and determination of every cricket player who makes up the team. 

Share This Post
Have your say!